Crunchy Lettuce Boats

 I needed a quick recipe to entertain and my sister texted me a recipe for lettuce wraps and insisted I make these. As per usual I took one look at the recipe and decided I’ll make something easier. But at the supermarket the ingredients for these cups literally called me from the shelves. I spotted the hoisin sauce in plain view, just mocking me. And a huge bunch of the freshest green lettuce at the entrance looking very hopeful and the noodles that my sister told me to use fell out from a shelf straight into my trolley. It was a sign.

These crunchy lettuce boats pack the perfect crunch, they’re fresh and packed with flavor and guilt-free. Its like a super oriental salad that feels like a meal! I didn’t really follow the recipe my sister gave me and ended up making my own version but you can’t substitute the hoisin sauce. Its what gives these boats the real flavor.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 kg chicken cubed into teeny tiny pieces
  • 1 tsp chopped garlic
  • 1 tbsp oil or more
  • 1 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 4 tbsp hoisin sauce
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 grated carrot
  • 1/2 capsicum chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped peanuts, fried
  • 1 packet steam fried noodles (If you can’t find these, use maggi noodles blanched in water and then fried)
  • 2 bunches baby lettuce or 1 flower of iceberg lettuce, leaves separated and washed

I used these. They look already cooked and pretty straight for noodles.

So the first thing you need to do is heat up your oil in a large-ish pan and add the chopped garlic and chicken. Fry this mixture until the chicken is well cooked. Add oyster sauce and chilli flakes and push this around in the pan for a bit. Just to boss it around or so.

 

IMG_0735_Fotor

IMG_0736_Fotor

Add the chopped capsicum, grated carrot, brown sugar and hoisin sauce. Cook until well heated through and combined. We don’t want to mush up the carrot and the capsicum so don’t overdo it.

IMG_0737_Fotor

Take this mix off the pan and reserve for later. Add the noodles and fry them up in the same pan, you may need to add more oil.

Put them aside too. but don’t mix with the chicken.

Similarly, fry your peanuts and set aside. Don’t mix it in. Peanuts should be the last thing to fry – some people have nut allergies so you want to keep it separately if you’re having guests over so that they can mix it up later if they so desire.

Now just prep your lettuce onto some serving plates and trim off where needed, roughly the lettuce should be the same size so that no one gets upset. Because this is insanely delicious. I used baby lettuce because I like the taste of it over iceberg. Its more crunchier and more ‘alive’ looking. I don’t know what I mean by that but these pictures can show.

IMG_0739_Fotor

Oh I meant more green and wrinkled and beautiful I guess! ALIVE!

IMG_0740_Fotor

yummm! These were wiped out in minutes! great to try for iftaris since it tastes like a fresh bunch of yum without being heavy.

IMG_0743_Fotor

GLORIOUS.

 

2 thoughts on “Crunchy Lettuce Boats

Leave a Reply

