Asian Honey Chicken

Like my usual asian -inspired recipes, this one is also taken from Damn Delicious. That blog has the most crazy amazing recipes you have to check them out! But I fiddled around the recipe till I made it my own! I love having a slightly more saucy gravy, I’m not a big fan of having chicken in every bite – but since this didn’t call for extra veggies, I kind of made more sauce! So here we go!

The dark sweet and smoky sauce gives a perfect compliment to the crispy chicken without it being too overpowering. I have an issue with not marinating the chicken before cooking, so I always – ALWAYS marinate it.

This serves 4 ppl -I’d suggest doubling the recipe if you’re making this for family or if you’re very hungry!

Ingredients:

For the marinade:

  • 1/2 kg Boneless chicken cubed and washed.
  • 3 tsp Soy sauce
  • 1 tsp Minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp White pepper
  • 1 tbsp Cornflour

For the sauce:

  • 1 cup stock
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red chilli flakes
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 tbsp cornflour or more if required
  • a bit salt, if you need it
  • Green onions chopped for garnish
  • Oil for frying
  • Corn (I used corn as an additional veggie)

 

Method:

honey chicken 001_FotorMarinate the chicken in the marinade ingredients for half an hour. You can go chill or do your laundry in that time. I’d suggest chill.

 

 

 

Mix up all the sauce ingredients except for cornflour and bring to a boil. Check if you need a bit of salt and then add that. When the mix starts boiling, add cornflour mixed in cold water. Add this bit by bit because we want a rich consistency without turning the gravy into a custard.

honey chicken 005_Fotor

Set the sauce aside and shallow fry the chicken in a heavy pan making sure the cubes don’t touch each other. I always make the mistake of overloading the pan which results in a goopy cornstarch mess – because I want all the chicken fried at once. *woes of being always hungry* But do this in batches for golden cubes of perfection and then you can chow down that all at once later when you’re loading your plate 😉 Stir fry the corn if used and set aside too. As you can see, I added the corn to the sauce earlier.

honey chicken 003_Fotor

After all the chicken has fried, throw it in the sauce with the corn and heat the sauce up again and mix till all is coated.

honey chicken 007_Fotor

Load up the green onions as a garnish and enjoy this with rice!

honey chicken 008_Fotor

OH YAMMMM.

Happy tummies all around!

honey chicken 009_Fotor

 

4 thoughts on “Asian Honey Chicken

  1. neelakhanrambles says:

    This has made me terribly hungry!
    Two questions:
    Can I make heaps of the sauce and store in the fridge for two-three weeks?
    Can I use this recipe with noodles instead of rice? If yes, then what noodle, pasta, spaghetti thing would go best?

    Like

    • bigfatyum says:

      I would recommend storing the sauce without the cornflour and mix it in fresh when you use it! This will go very well with asian rice noodles or even spaghetti! Thank you so much for commenting!

      Like

Leave a Reply

