Perfectly Dense Moist Chocolate Cake

This is my go-to recipe for almost every birthday that we have at home, this cake produces excellent results and never fails me. Its a combination of the recipe printed on Hershey’s cocoa tin and another recipe that I found in a bake book. If you want to omit the coffee, you can safely just use hot water instead, but adding coffee gives this cake a dark soul which teases your own conscience. The recipe is simple to follow and anyone who owns measuring cups can go ahead and make it.

Before I disclose this recipe, just a note of caution – a good cake needs all the ingredients at room temperature, eggs, butter, whatever the recipe calls for. And they need to be measured/weighed precisely. I used to crack cold eggs into my cake batter when I started baking and cried when my cake didn’t rise. Anyhow! Onto the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups castor sugar sifted
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup brewed coffee, room temperature
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa and baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add the oil, coffee and milk and beat at medium for 2 minutes, Add eggs and vanilla and beat 2 minutes again.

IMG_5720

Pour into a greased and lined pan  – I use a large round pan, but you can use two 9 inch ones as well. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes ( I find that using an electric oven exceeds the baking time to 45 minutes or more depending on how well the cake has risen) Cool for ten minutes before removing from pan.

Cool completely before icing.

Note: I use an electric oven and I have to give it around 50 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. And I bake it at around 280 on the electric.

The cake picture has been frosted with Betty Crocker fudge icing which is available in most stores but I have a killer frosting recipe that I will post some time again!

Happy baking!

chocolate_by_noveen

2 thoughts on “Perfectly Dense Moist Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

